Skip to content

London Corinthians Testimonial: Mark, Further Education Lecturer

December 21, 2012
Untitled

Mark Yansen: I knew that wanted to join London Corinthians after my very first meeting

Q: Why and when did you join London Corinthians?

A: I originally joined in South Korea (2008) where I taught presentation skills to business men. However, I wasn’t happy with my public speaking ability and figured if I am teaching business men to be confident speakers, then I should also improve myself, and so I joined Toastmasters with that goal in mind.

Q: How has it helped you as a public speaker?

A: It definitely has, whereas before I would sometimes wing it (don’t tell my students) but now I am much more organised and understand the nitty gritty of what makes a good public speaker, from seeing so many within various toastmaster clubs I’ve visited.

Q: Why do you think the toastmasters model has been so successful in producing top public speakers?  

A: I think Toastmasters is so successful because it has a proven method of success which has been refined over and over again for more than 100 years. as its been about 100 years since Ralph Smedley since first developed the toastmaster idea and since then it has grown from strength to strength.

Q: Why is London Corinthians the best public speaking club in London? 

A: That’s a great question because there are so many clubs to choose from in London. I took the time to visit various clubs before joining London Corinthians and I would recommend that to anyone thinking of joining a club to do the same. You cannot really compare unless you have something to compare with. I had been to many clubs, but as soon as I visited Corinthians I knew immediately I would join. Why; well there were so many excellent speakers so I thought I want to learn and be as good as these guys. Plus there was an incredible atmosphere of fun and frolics with some learning thrown in for good measure too. I had such a great evening and left the building feeling the Corinthians buzz which I get after each meeting.

Q: What final advice would you give to someone wanting to improve their public speaking ability?

A: The best advice is really to practice, practice, and practice. I know it sounds like a cliché, but many clichés have a ring of truth to them and none more so than this one. When you meet with and listen to good speakers you want to raise your own level and feel more motivated to improve and as you see yourself improving, you naturally want to invest more to become the best that you can be, so the growing process is circular; the better you become, the bar is raised and the better you want to be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

